news feed
 under 21
 under 19
 under 17
 young guns


 contact us

 Quick search



 ( lost password )


dragonsoccer on  
Twitter : Dragon Soccer




Under 21 Result: Wales 3 Iceland 0

Match Details:

Wales (0) 3 Iceland (0)

Three late goals in the last 11 minutes from Wes Burns, Jonathan Williams and Robert Ogleby earned Geraint Williams' new look Under 21 a victory against Finland.

Wales 3 Iceland 0

Wes Burns 79, Jonathan Williams 81, Robert Ogleby 89.

Referee: Eli Hacmon (Israel)

Wales v Iceland: Wednesday 6th February at Stebonheath Park, Llanelli.
Kick off 3pm

Wales line up:
1 Danny Ward
2 Eliott Hewitt
3 Kieron Freeman
4 Lee Lucas (Capt)
5 Joe Walsh
6 Scott Tancock
7 Billy Bodin
8 Emyr Huws
9 Jake Cassidy
10 Tom Lawrence
11 Jonathan Williams

12 Connor Roberts
13 Jonathan Meades
14 Lloyd Isgrove
15 Chris Dawson
16 Wes Burns
17 Robert Ogleby
18 Aaron Oakley

Referee: Eli Hacmon (Israel)

"We have a new group and in many ways this is a clean slate for us. I don't want to single out any individuals but I am happy with the group we have got and I am looking forward to working with them. We are excited about playing Iceland, as we should be every time we represent Wales.

"We will be looking to be solid at the back, you need to have a solid foundation so that is what we want to see. With the ball we want to be sharp in attack, to look to transfer the ball quickly and accurately, and if we do those things hopefully we will have a good performance." - Geraint Williams.

Wales squad:
Connor Roberts - Cheltenham Town *
Danny Ward - Liverpool *
Danny Alfei - Swansea City (loan Wrexham)
Kieron Freeman - Derby County
Jonathan Meades - Bournemouth (loan AFC Wimbledon)
Scott Tancock - Swansea City *
Joe Walsh - Crawley Town
Billy Bodin - Torquay United
Elliott Hewitt - Ipswich Town
Emyr Huws - Manchester City
Lloyd Isgrove - Southampton *
Tom Lawrence - Manchester United *
Lee Lucas - Swansea City
Jonathan Williams - Crystal Palace
Wes Burns - Bristol City *
Jake Cassidy - Wolves
Chris Dawson - Leeds United *
Robert Ogleby - Wrexham.

Stand by players:
Oliver Davies - Swansea City *
Lee Evans - Newport County *
Jordan Holt - St.Mirren *
Aaron Oakley - Swindon Town *
Elliott Chamberlain - Exeter City
Michael Doughty - QPR
Gwion Edwards - Swansea City
Josh Pritchard - Fulham *
Louis Thompson - Swindon Town *
Theo Wharton - Cardiff City *
Tom Bradshaw - Shrewsbury Town.

*uncapped at Under 21 level. For the next UEFA tournament, all players must be on born on, or after, 1st January 1992.

Comments (0)
Posted: Wednesday 6th February 2013
mail: (optional)


smile wink wassat tongue laughing sad angry crying 

Content Management Powered by CuteNews